Night-blooming jasmine Cestrum nocturnum

Night-blooming jasmine Cestrum nocturnum (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So we have all been waiting for spring and so now it is spring or so we like to think so.  We keep going to our local gardening store seeing what flowers, vegetables, etc. that we can buy to make our outdoor living space look like spring.  The daffodils, tulips, and other spring flowers are in full bloom and you would think that we would be satisfied with that.  But no, we crave more!  Personally, I have already bought petunias but cannot put them outside yet as they would die.  I do have strawberries growing in  up-side-down containers on my deck and they seem to be doing great with some fruit already showing and many flowers.  I have planted lettuce and even green beans, but yet I crave more!  There are certain flowers and shrubs that have not come in yet; for example I am eager to purchase a night-blooming jasmine shrub which opens its flowers at night and emits a jasmine fragrance.  But this won’t come in for another couple of weeks!  I would love to get started on cucumbers and tomatoes but it is still too early for these vegetables too!  Oh, we are all waiting for May when there will be this scrambled frenzy to get started on all the flowers, vegetables, and fruits that we eagerly have been waiting all winter to see growing in our garden!