English: President Barack Obama speaks to a jo...

English: President Barack Obama speaks to a joint session of Congress regarding health care reform (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am hoping that this blog reaches you or someone in your office as it is the quickest and easiest way I can think of reaching you and talking to you about the new health care website.

I know that this website has had its share of problems that have not been resolved yet.   I know because it took me several tries to actually complete an application.  Even after getting into the web site it was difficult to use because you could not edit certain sections or could not get back to certain sections to make corrections.  As a result, I listed an incorrect vehicle and the web site would not allow me to correct this; hopefully it is not a big deal.

I was able to complete and submit my re-application this past Saturday and for that hopefully it will be a little more clear sailing from now on for me.

One thing that really bothered me was the specific use of the word “alien” within this website.  As a permanent resident, I had to provide more information than an American citizen and I do not have a problem with that.  However, being referred to as an “alien’ did bother me quite some bit.

You see, although I am a Permanent Resident and not a citizen of this country, my family roots are up and down the East Coast with many family members having grown up and buried in this country and many family members still alive and living in this country.  So, to be referred to as an “alien” was disheartening.

Call me a Permanent resident or an immigrant and I do not mind.  After all, the majority of American citizens come from family that originally immigrated to this country.  But to call me an “alien”; I am not an alien as I am not from Mars or any other planet.

I think that the use of this wording in your new Obama care web site should be addressed as quickly as possible because I am sure that I must not be the only one who took offense to such wording.

Thank you for the time you will take into looking into this as I do feel that this term is discriminatory.

 

Obama-care-chart

Obama-care-chart (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

