English: Traffic light in Spain Español: Semáforo

Image via Wikipedia

Traffic Lights

Posted January 1, 2012

Author:  L.L. Plante

This is one of those questions that invariably irritates you as you come upon a traffic light that changes much too quickly. No matter what you do or your timing you inevitably will either stop too quickly because of the quick change or run a red light. Try to time your delivery; it never works. I have even tried to anticipate that although the light has just turned green should I go or stop? I found it best to stop as it always seems that the light will change as soon as I try to drive across the intersection. My question is why are there traffic lights with such bad timing? Are they set up to provide the local law enforcement an excuse to stop and ticket you? Or is it just poor administration? What are your comments?

